April 27, 2011

Review of "Here Lies Bridget"

"Here Lies Bridget"
Paige Harbison

Here Lies Bridget (Harlequin Teen)3

Pub. Date: January 18th, 2011
Pages: 224
Publisher: Harlequin

Synopsis:  Bridget Duke is the uncontested ruler of her school. The meanest girl with the biggest secret insecurities. And when new girl Anna Judge arrives, things start to fall apart for Bridget: friends don't worship as attentively, teachers don't fall for her wide-eyed "who me?" look, expulsion looms ahead and the one boy she's always loved—Liam Ward—can barely even look at her anymore.

When a desperate Bridget drives too fast and crashes her car, she ends up in limbo, facing everyone she's wronged and walking a few uncomfortable miles in their shoes. Now she has only one chance to make a last impression. Though she might end up dead, she has one last shot at redemption and the chance to right the wrongs she's inflicted on the people who mean the most to her.

And Bridget's about to learn that, sometimes, saying you're sorry just isn't enough….

When I first heard about this book I was very excited because it reminded me of "Before I Fall", but "Here Lies Bridget" did not live up to my hopes.  The book was good, but it just didn't captivate me like "Before I Fall".  I had two problems with this book.  The first was the fact that I didn't really sympathize with Bridget until the very end of the book.  She was too cruel and naive about how her actions affect others.  She took advantage of EVERYONE in her life and wasn't nice to anyone.  She really just came across as the biggest, most spoiled brat character.  This wouldn't have been so bad, except for the fact that the book spent way too much time showing how terrible of a person Bridget was.  I wanted to see more of her realizing her faults and getting to know the real Bridget, but there just wasn't enough of this for me.

The book did move pretty quickly and it was enjoyable watching all the drama unfold, but I just had problems connecting with Bridget's character for most of the book.  Even though it was hard to read, I liked the scenes with Bridget’s stepmother.  She just seemed very genuine.  Something I really did like about the book was the complex relationship between Bridget and Liam.  I liked that it slowly unwrapped through the book.  I feel like her interactions with Liam were some of the only moments where I saw the real Bridget.  Getting to see the true thoughts of Bridget's closest friends was also another part of the book I really enjoyed.  Bridget was just so disconnected from other people's perceptions of her.

Overall, the book was good, I just wish more time was spent on Bridget learning about her flaws.  I would recommend this book to readers who enjoyed "Before I Fall" and "The Ghost and the Goth".  I wish I liked this book more, but it just didn’t meet my expectations.

Buy from BN.com  Buy From Amazon.com

No comments:

Post a Comment